Kāhui Ako Ki Orewa


Kāhui Ako Ki Orewa

Hibiscus Coast’s first Community of Learning, Kāhui Ako was launched in 2017 having been endorsed by the Ministry of Education. Kāhui Ako ki Orewa comprises of Silverdale School, Orewa Beach Primary School, Wainui School, Orewa College, Dairy Flat School and Orewa Primary School, Ahutoetoe School and Nukumea Schoool.

A Kāhui Ako is a group of education and training providers (early learning, schools (kura), state integrated schools and post-secondary), representing the learning pathway of most children and young people, who work together to help students achieve their full potential.

Each Kāhui Ako sets shared goals or achievement challenges based on the particular needs of its children and young people. Once these have been endorsed by the Minister of Education, the Kāhui Ako works with students, their boards, parents, whānau, iwi and communities to achieve those challenges.

Kāhui Ako ki Orewa will see the schools work closely to achieve common achievement challenges. Teachers from all six schools meet regularly to share common teaching practice and are working to develop clear learning pathways for all students.

Our four focus areas are:

  1. Te ao Māori – Ako and Leadership- Tikanga, Te reo, Cultural Responsiveness
  2. Hauora – Barrier Free Access – Learner Support, Well Being
  3. Future Ready – Future Focused – Collaborative Learning, Digital Curriculum
  4. NZ Curriculum Refresh –  New Zealand Curriculum refresh , Pathways.

Kahui 2021 Poster (1)


 Name Class Website Year Class Team
Mrs Anna Collins     http://puririclass.blogspot.co.nz/ New Entrant Rata  Pukeko Team
Mrs Kylie Allen New Entrant Rata  Pukeko Team
Mrs Halena Howard Year 1 Karaka  Pukeko Team
Miss Shelley Ross Year 2 Puriri  Pukeko Team
Mrs Alice Hill Year 2 Puriri Rua  Pukeko Team
Mrs Avril Richards Year 3 & 4 Pukatea  Kiwi team
Mrs Pam Millar  http://kiwiteamsblog.blogspot.co.nz/ Year 3 & 4 Kowhai  Kiwi Team
Mrs Marinda Van Dyk Year 5 & 6 Totara  Tui Team
Mr Keon Ng Year 5 & 6 Matai  Tui Team
Miss Lauren Jenkins Year 5 & 6 Rimu  Tui Team
Mrs Sandy Blackburn Year 5 & 6 Rimu  Tui Team
Miss Leanne Stevenson Year 7 Kahikatea  Takahe Team
Mr Jason Irvine Year 8 Kauri  Takahe Team